Patient Reviews

  You don't always see five STARS everywhere. Then you wonder if it's too good to be true,
I can say ; everything good  i read turned out to be true and everything goes as planned. PSA 6.5 BPH size 106 dr. K said it was less and Explained there's different ways to measure it. The MRI showed no cancer: They spent at least four hours for the surgery doing I'm sure the best they could.It was easy and painless actually nurse Donnie takes well care of you. Except for the antibiotic shots.worst part of the whole process was the catheter ,however after 13 days I removed it  easily at home. Everything was working good! No problems.No more catheters no more pills! I would've stayed next-door to the office in Houston but they saved me 100 bucks and I stayed at the Zaza hotel.  The first day You can walk to their offices it's a nice walk through the park.Plan on using a Uber for everything else, that works out fantastic. No matter how hard you try Juliana wont pick you up anywhere. THANKS PLC TEAM,   FLA 2/23 /2020

thumb Kent S.
4/22/2022

  Very considerate crew. From Dr. K Donnie and all the nurses. The best experience if you need to go through something like this. I would rate them with 15 stars if it was possible. I trust the result will be good but already the experience in their care was excellent

thumb Tsafrir Y.
4/10/2022

  Doctor Karamanian and nurse Donnie are great.  I'm now 7 months out after my FLA procedure and could not be happier with the results.  Very caring and professional.  Well worth the trip from Phoenix to Houston.  I was treated for BPH and prostate cancer.

thumb Steve N.
12/06/2021

  I had procedure for BPH with Dr K,  the best thing I have ever done.
I am 5 weeks post procedure and the stream is better today than 20 years ago.  
No pain with procedure or afterward. No complications.  I will never have another issue with my ablated prostate again.  Thank you!  Mark

thumb Mark D.
3/09/2021

  I flew in from Seattle early March, 2020 for both FLA and BPH treatment after review of my 3T MRI CD images with Dr. Karamanian.
The surgery went exactly as Dr. K detailed in the Pre Op.
It has now been 3 weeks Post Op. and each day brings more confidence
in my fast track return to maximum performance.  I am fully functional
and NO lesions any longer.  The Surgery was a complete success in every way.  I feel confident that frequency will diminish with each week, but even now I know how much better I truly do feel.
Dr. Karamanian is so very talented, HUMBLE, focused, and shows so much caring to the patient.  Nurse Donnie gave such personal care to me both before, during, and after the surgery.  He is outstanding as well.
Julianna coordinated the entire scheduling with precision, and special care.
I could not rate a HIGHER rating than as good as it GETS.  Dr. Karamanian is the very BEST of the BEST.
So grateful for this Surgery to get my LIFE on TRACK.
Denison Luce

thumb Denny L.
3/29/2020

  It's now 6 months after my FLA, I went for FLA because I had severe BPH problems with potential bladder deterioration and I was  Gl4+3.  I investigated FLA other FLA practitioners and decided on Dr.Karamanian after watching the last 3 years as his FLA practice and expertise developed. I am very glad I decided to have him perform FLA. So far results are excellent, my PSA prior to FLA was 10.3, 6 months after FLA is now at 0.6, my IPSS as far as BPH was at 25, now is 1, only because I need to pee once overnight. My average urine flow 3 months after FLA was 13.6 ml/sec, 4 months after was 16.6ml/sec, I have no urgency, frequency is normal, every 3-4 hrs.
I have no ED, never had any issue in this department, I am fully continent. My most recent prostate 3TMRI as part of 6 months follow up, was carried out and reviewed independently by another radiologist who confirmed I have no residual cancer left,  Dr.Karamania says the same. Thank you, Doctor and Nurse Donnie, you are a great team.

thumb Andrew O.
3/25/2020

  After being diagnosed with stage two prostate cancer (PSA # 9.7) I researched four treatment options, prostatectomy, radiation treatment, HIFU, and Focal Laser Ablation.  Although my insurance, BCBS, only would cover the first two options, I chose Dr Karamanian to perform Focal Laser Ablation (FLA).    My research found that many urologists don't have extensive experience performing HIFU and almost none perform FLA.   I found this to be the most preferable option as there were no undesirable side effects, no diapers or leakage, no ED, no pain or discomfort etc.  If I have a reoccurrence, I will still have the four options mentioned above available - not so had I chose prostatectomy or radiation.  
The treatment itself was relatively easy with minor discomfort.  The staff was outstanding and competent.  My PSA number dropped to 1.09 and my MRI showed no concerns as of my six month post-procedure checkup. I would suggest booking your return flight three or more days after the procedure just in case you have to wear a catheter a tad longer than usual - I didn't want to have to attempt to self-catheterize in the event that urination was a problem (turns out I didn't, but it is a possibility).   I would also suggest sticking with Houston Medical Imaging for the MRIs including follow up MRIs as they use the most advanced equipment and the staff knows how to deliver Dr. K with the most useful results.
I owe Dr K and his staff (shout out to Donnie) the most sincere gratitude, they have saved my life and my quality of life.  No question I would recommend this option after all, for the price of a small car, I have returned to good health with no complications.   Thank you Team K, you're the best!

thumb David B.
12/31/2019

  Diagnosed with Adenocarcinoma prostate cancer on 11-2-18. Gleason score 3+4-7.

Had Focal Laser Ablation on April 2, 2019 performed by Dr. Ara Karamanian at Prostate Laser Center in Houston on April 2, 2019.

Had 6 month follow up on November 1, 2019. PSA level was 0.29.

MRI performed by Dr. Joseph Busch on this date revealed NO CANCER.

Thank you Dr. Karamanian

thumb Steve B.
11/23/2019

  I had MRI guided Focal Laser Ablation for BPH done on Sep 6, 2019.  The moment I met the doctor and his team at the pre-op appointment I knew I am in good hands.
Both Dr. Karamanian and Nurse Donnie Sartin went into a great length to minimize any chance of infection and to maximize my comfort during and after the procedure.
As a result I felt absolutely no pain during the procedure.

The day after the procedure the doctor met me at his office and explained in detail what exactly had been done and why.
It was clear to me that he takes great pride in his work, loves what he does and above all cares about his patients.
I left his office with a feeling that I just acquired a new family member.

It's been now two months since I had the FLA done in Houston and the results are truly amazing.
Today I feel absolutely no discomfort, no urgency, good flow, and I can usually sleep through the night.

I got my life back thanks to a great team of the Houston Prostate Laser Center.
My special thanks to Dr. Ara Karamanian and Nurse Donnie Sartin.

thumb Alex U.
11/16/2019

  My focal laser ablation was Tuesday, April 30th. 1 tumor with two positive cores (all other cores benign on target biopsy). Cores were 10 percent 3+4=7 and 20 percent 3+3=6. I almost got a RP until my google research found this procedure. Left Austin Monday morning with wife, 2 daughters and 1 grandson around 9:00 to make my 2:00 appointment at the Prostate Laser Center in Houston. At the appointment Dr. Karamanian previewed all that he was going to do during the procedure telling me how he was going to have to crowd the neurovascular bundle in order to insure he killed all the cancer so there was a risk of ed if he had to ablate too much. The next morning I was at the 3T MRI site at 6:00 for final prepping before the procedure. This is where the unbelievably great nurse, Donnie Sartin, explained in detail what was going to happen while inserting the IV needle into my arm with me barely realizing it! The insertion of the catheter was extremely easy as I only felt a little pinch as he pushed it past the sphincter. They started with biopsy probes to check the grade of the cancer they were about to ablate then proceeded with the ablation of which, though I was technically conscious, I don't remember. I then went back to the hotel and slept that afternoon and most of the night. The next day I went back to the office, had the catheter removed, got another heavy duty antibiotic shot (I also got one during the day 1 appointment), looked at before and after pictures of my prostate, then went back to the hotel. Stayed in Houston one more night in case there were complications with urinating then came home to Austin around noon.
I won't know any numbers yet but I'm sure they're going to be close to normal for a 69 year old man since they killed about 1/8th of my prostate around the tumor. The catheter was uncomfortable and I was glad to get it out after 24 hours but that was the only thing that bothered me in the least.
All in all this operation was very professional which was executed by very talented people who know what they're doing. (While in a very informal atmosphere.)  If you consider this procedure, I highly recommend Prostate Laser Center in Houston, TX.  Oh, PSA 1.9 with clear MRI at 6 months!!!!

thumb Jack S.
10/30/2019

I'm 57 and now 7 month cancer free PSA back down under 4. The FLA procedure was painless for me with no side effects after healing. The catheter was the only downfall of this procedure for me. But worth the discomfort to get where I am now. I went through 3 local doctors at a high standard hospital trying to get answers to why my PSA numbers were rising. Of course antibiotic little to no benefit to lower PSA. The normal biopsy came back ok no cancer. So finally I talked to the second doctor into allowing me to pay for my own MRI and then they found cancer in the upper half of my prostate where the biopsy couldn't reach.( Why do a blind biopsy to not find cancer? Waste of time ,money and lives.) By the time I got to Dr. K my PSA was 22 and my gleason was 3+4=7. Dr K said he wished I would have been there 6 months earlier. He felt I had a good chance that the FLA treatment would work but was very open that there is a chance it might come back. I also suffered from BPH. He said he would have to take a lot of my prostate in order to get all the cancer and to relieve my BPH. As many have said Dr. K and staff are above and beyond in all aspects of this procedure. It is sad to me that the medical world is not getting behind this. I went to an oncologist that specializes in prostate removal and had done over a 1,000 removals. And when I mentioned FLA he looked at me like a deer in the headlights. Folded his folder up and said let me know if I can do the procedure and walked out. I know there is still a chance the cancer could come back. But by doing this FLA procedure I still have other options left. I Thank God for the opportunities we have in America and that God put special people like Dr. K and staff here to take care of us. Jay G

thumb Jay Grube
July 16, 2022

Although Dr. Karamanian determined that I was not a candidate for laser ablation, he called me personally the very day he received my MRI, answered all questions, and advised me that the radiation recommended by my prostate oncologist was probably the best option for me. I appreciate the time he spent with me (over 2 phone calls) and his candid advice.

thumb Mary Belle Rogers
June 24, 2022

You don't always see five STARS everywhere. Then you wonder if it's too good to be true, I can say ; everything good i read turned out to be true and everything goes as planned. PSA 6.5 BPH size 106 dr. K said it was less and Explained there's different ways to measure it. The MRI showed no cancer: They spent at least four hours for the surgery doing I'm sure the best they could.It was easy and painless actually nurse Donnie takes well care of you. Except for the antibiotic shots.worst part of the whole process was the catheter ,however after 13 days I removed it easily at home. Everything was working good! No problems.No more catheters no more pills! I would've stayed next-door to the office in Houston but they saved me 100 bucks and I stayed at the Zaza hotel. The first day You can walk to their offices it's a nice walk through the park.Plan on using a Uber for everything else, that works out fantastic. No matter how hard you try Juliana wont pick you up anywhere. THANKS PLC TEAM, FLA 2/23 /2020

thumb Kent Seis
April 22, 2022

I was diagnosed with prostate cancer in mid 2013. During my research, I found information about a relatively new treatment called FLA and began researching the practitioners, one of which was Dr. Ara Karamanian in Houston, TX. After discussing my case with numerous urologists, radiologists and oncologists in 3 different states over 2+ years, I decided on "Dr K" and feel very fortunate that I found him. I was treated by "Dr K" by FLA of the prostate in Dec 2017 after communicating with him for over a year prior and for the 5+ years since. I have found him to be one of the most caring and compassionate physicians I have met. He always gave me whatever time and information I needed pre and post treatment and actual listens to my concerns and desires. He tells you like it is - he doesn't sugar coat it - BUT, he knows how to put you at ease and give you the information needed to make your decision. If only all physicians were as understanding.

thumb Tim O'Pry
February 11, 2022

My husband and I are very grateful to Dr. Karamanian for his optimal medical treatment for my husband's prostate condition. He received focal laser ablation and the results were fantastic. If you have a prostate condition that needs treatment, including many cases of cancer, and you want to optimize your chances of keeping your sexual and bladder functioning (who doesn't?) in many many cases I think there's no one better to see than Dr. K. The urologists, even the best ones, will recommend their procedures, but it would seem the risk of horrible permanent side effects is much greater. It is worth checking out to see if focal laser ablation may be the best intervention. Sadly, insurance probably won't cover it. Hoping the future will bring more widespread use of less barbaric treatments for the many men who suffer with prostate conditions. You can read the forum of many smart patients who have been to many smart doctors, on team inspire (prostate community) if you'd like to read more about these matters. But to end this, we found Dr. K to be a fantastic doctor and a fantastic human being.

thumb Janet Mendola
June 29, 2021

After a very extensive search and speaking with numerous doctors and …reviewing their results data (as best as one can, as many do not want to share their results data); posing all of my questions and evaluating and taking note of their answers (or not/avoidance; note that I did not want any personal data of patients, primarily just aggregate data); getting a feel for their demeanor as well as what was important to them and what their priorities are; gauging with my best assessment of integrity and authenticity; …my short list came down to Dr. Ara Karamanian at the Prostate Laser Center and Dr. John Feller at Desert Medical Imaging. Ultimately, I chose Dr. Karamanian at the Prostate Laser Center. Dr. K was one of the most attentive and responsive FLA doctors I spoke with. Dr. K called me back promptly whenever I had any question or request. Dr. K’s assistant and nurse, Donnie Sartin, was also great to have caring for me. He replied thoroughly and articulately and took the time needed to fully address any questions or concerns. My perception of, and ultimately experience with, Dr. K and Mr. Sartin were very positive. Adjectives that come to mind are: real, genuine, caring, responsive, knowledgeable, skilled, intelligent, experienced, receptive, thorough. In my various other research efforts, including seminars and support groups, I had occasion to run into a couple of other men who had FLA performed by Dr. K. Both of them had nothing but positive things to say, including the most important, no residual or recurrent cancer as of the time I spoke with them. On a technical/clinical note, not all doctors sought the same margins. The more margin, the less chance or residual/recurrence, as the cancer has “tentacles/roots” (non-medical terms). I liked what Dr. K told me about his grid pattern in ablating as well as the margins. It has been 8 months since my FLA procedure. I have had zero encounters of incontinence, which was my #1 concern regarding side effects. At 6 months, my PSA was 0.3 and my 3TMRI, reviewed by two radiologists, including Dr. K, both stated there was no residual or recurrent cancer. I am feeling blessed and pleased with the success to-date and would certainly highly recommend Dr. K to anyone seeking FLA.

thumb Hartwell Rainey
August 29, 2020

My biopsy found one core only with cancer, but it was a Gleason 8. After extensive research, I concluded FLA was my most conservative course of action, however the few places I read about offering it only accepted up to Gleason 7. When I called Dr. Karamanian, he told me he would consider accepting me as a patient. After reviewing my MRI, he called me and said he could do it. Recovery from the procedure was not difficult and 7 months later, my follow up MRI found no malignancy in my prostate and my PSA is .6. I am extremely grateful.

thumb Alan Fischer
July 23, 2020

Follow-up appointment for a "touch up" to previous procedure. Could not have been better. Quick appointment setting, thorough workup, expert procedure done, the usual personal follow-up phone calls. Nurse Donnie is great. May very well be the best prostate doctor in the world.

thumb Pete Hitesman
May 28, 2019

I was diagnosed with Advanced Stage II Prostate Cancer in August 2016. I researched various treatments with 7 or 8 doctors, and decided on Laser Beam Therapy. Then, I heard about Laser Ablation Therapy and contacted Dr. K. What a refreshing experience for me. I met a man with total honesty, he is to the point -straight forward, and very caring. Same with his Assistant, Samantha. Dr. K performed Laser Ablation on me December 4, 2016. May 4, 2017, my MRI showed Dr. K was able to remove 100% of my tumors, some very large.; so, I am Cancer Free today. I have no side effects. Doctor K. is a wonderful Doctor in every respect and has allowed me to have an unimaginable quality of life today. I am so grateful to him.

thumb Sandy Sanderson
August 4, 2017

Seeking diagnostics or treatment for
prostate cancer or benign prostatic hypertrophy (BPH)?

Your Journey Starts Here

Contact Us